Table Of Contents
WooCommerce Catalog Visibility Options or Catalog Visibility Options transforms your WooCommerce store into a catalogue by giving you the option to disable all eCommerce functionality. This includes changing the “Add to Cart” and “Buy Now” buttons as well as disabling the regular checkout and cart processes.
- Showcase your product images and descriptions while finalizing prices, stock or payment gateway setups
- Toggle product visibility on a product, category, user role or user location basis
- Change text used on regular WooCommerce “Add to Cart” buttons when Catalog Visibility is active
- Switch between an active online store and a static product catalogue
- Download the .zip file from your WooCommerce account.
- Go to: WordPress Admin > Plugins > Add New and Upload Plugin with the file you downloaded with Choose File.
- Install Now and Activate the extension.
Setup and Configuration
For settings that affect your entire site, go to WooCommerce > Settings > Visibility Options.
This section has several options.
- Enabled – Purchases are allowed as expected.
- Disabled – Purchases are disabled for all users (whether they’re logged in or not). This setting disables all “Add to Cart” functionality. If you’d like to change the text used on the “Add to Cart” buttons, please refer to the section below entitled Catalog Add to Cart Button Text.
- Enabled for Logged In Users – This is similar to “Disabled” as described above except that the “Add to Cart” functionality will continue to work for logged in users.
- Enabled – Prices are displayed as expected.
- Disabled – Hides all prices, for all users, across the entire store on the front end. If you’d like to display a custom message or login form, please refer to the section below entitled Catalog Price Text.
- Enabled for Logged in Users – This is similar to “Disabled” as described above except that the prices will be visible for logged in users.
Catalog Add to Cart Button Text:
- Optional text to display in place of the “Add to Cart” button when purchases are disabled entirely or when enabled for logged-in users only.
Catalog Price Text:
- Optional text to display in place of the price when prices are disabled, or enabled only for logged-in users.
Optional content that can be used on the single product details page when prices or purchases are disabled or enabled only for logged-in users. Useful for displaying ordering details, or a log-on form if requiring user authentication before sales are allowed.
Location Filter Options
Location filter options allow store owners to display different products based on the user’s country.
To configure this section, go to: WooCommerce > Settings > Visibility Options.
Location Filter Functionality
- Enabled – Geolocation is active and catalogue visibility will be based on the users’ location
- Disabled – Geolocation is inactive prices will be displayed as per normal
Location Selection Page
- Where users are able to set/change their location. The page is automatically added upon installation of the plugin and should contain the [location_picker] shortcode. Available countries are the same countries you enabled for WooCommerce under WooCommerce > Settings > General.
Location Selection Requirements
- Require users to select a location
- Location selection is optional
Allow Changes to Location Selection
- Allow users to change location after selection
- Users cannot change location after initial selection
Use Geo Location
- Use geo-location – Only relevant for WooCommerce versions older than 2.3
- Do not use geo location – Used by default for the latest version of WooCommerce
Clear cart when location changes
- Clear cart when location changes
- Do not clear cart when location changes
Product Category Settings
With Catalog Visibility Options, you have the ability to restrict the visibility of products based on user role.
To configure visibility on a per-product category basis:
- Go to: WooCommerce > Products > Categories.
- Select Show to Specific Roles. Once selected, a new section appears, which allows you to tick the boxes of user roles that can see products in the category.
- Save changes.